Research, Richmond, Spring Break, and more!

by Hayley, a Patriot Blogger

Hi readers! I hope all has been well since I last wrote :)

This past week was rush week for my band service fraternity, Kappa Kappa Psi. We had a ton of great members of the Green Machine come out to events last week, and we accepted eight new membership candidates! Over the next two months, I will be educating them as they go through the process of becoming official brothers of the fraternity. I can’t wait to work with them and guide them along this pathway!

Today is a super exciting day, as I am finally (FINALLY) distributing the survey for my honors research project! The data should be rolling in pretty steadily over the next couple of weeks, and then I get to do more exciting things like compile it and analyze it. This is really the first major step in my research, and I am so excited! It’s not often that you get to conduct your own independent research as an undergraduate, so I feel really lucky to be part of the Honors in Communication program.

Spring break is coming up in less than two weeks, but before that, something else really exciting is happening–the Green Machine is traveling to Richmond! More accurately, the men’s basketball team is traveling to Richmond for the CAA tournament, and we are accompanying them on their travels. It’s always an incredibly fun weekend, filled with meeting new friends from other bands, bowling, Chinese food, WaWa trips, sketchy hair dryers at the Quality Inn, and most importantly, postseason basketball! March is one of my favorite times of year, mostly because I love college basketball. This will be my fourth (and sadly, last) trip to Richmond with the band, and I have loved every one of these trips :)

For any of you seniors out there, I hope the college decision-making process is going well for you! We at The Patriot Life are always happy to answer questions from prospective students, so let us know if there’s something you want to know more about!

Until next time….GO MASON!

–Hayley

Leave a Reply

