Baking Madness

by Jenny, a Patriot Blogger

sugarbrowniemixvegetableoilpeanutbutterstrawberryjam

The ingredients to my PP&J brownies, while so simple, were making my head spin and vision blur. I could only hope my incurable clumsiness and limited baking experience wouldn’t keep from making my batch. A mad scramble for the mixing bowls, spatulas, and baking sheets and we were off!


A few weeks ago, I attended a free cooking session hosted by CAFE-GMU (Crazy Awesome Food and Entertainment).  When I heard that I was one of the lucky 12 or randomly selected to participate, I immediately made plans to be there and found a sub at work.  While I struggled here and there to keep up, being in a group with an experienced CAFE-GMU member helped tremendously and kept me from throwing in my peanut butter smothered towel.  I did not emerge victorious with a batch of perfectly baked brownies, but I learned to watch the oven like a hawk in the future.

Other cooking classes throughout the semester have been taught by campus executive chef Peter Schoebel, and have had themes ranging from cooking for a date night to healthy food cooking.  The other lessons taught students how to cook starches,  protein, and how to work with spices.

Some of the dishes made during the lessons include:
Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb
General Tao’s Chicken and Rice Bowl
Basic Risotto
Parmesan Mashed Potatoes
Creme Brulee

Above are a few events hosted by CAFE-GMU from this past semester.  Pictured below are some of the tastiest cookies and pastries made that night!

Leave a Reply

