The Importance of Rain Boots

Snowpocalypse 2010
Snowpocalypse of 2010

by Jenny, a Patriot Blogger

Rainboots.  Chunky, warm, hard to walk in.  Why would I ever buy a pair?  This was my mindset before coming to college.  However, soon into my freshman year I realized how much of an absolute necessity rain boots are on campus.

With the traffic during peak class times, it’s difficult if not impossible to maneuver around puddles.  At Mason, we experienced the Snowpocalypse of 2010 (a whole week where we couldn’t attend classes!)  and recently have had a week of nonstop raindrops.

If you are like me and unwittingly leave your trusty pair at home for the first two weeks, it is likely that you will run out of dry shoes and will have to resort to picking out the “least soggy” pair.  I have, however, seen some creative solutions to the wettest of days; from plastic bags fastened to shoes by rubber bands to plain bare feet for the more free-spirited.

Fortunately, Weather.com has informed me that I will be able to give my rain boots a well-deserved rest.  I am looking forward to a week of dry and sunny skies!

Leave a Reply

